The Pearce Institute Investigation
The stunning building – which sits within Govan – was commissioned by Lady Dinah Pearce in memory of her late husband Sir William Pearce MP of the Fairfield Shipyard, who died in 1888. The building was designed by Sir Robert Rowand Anderson in the style of a large 17th century Scottish town house and constructed between 1902 and 1906.
The Pearce Institute was intended as a local social centre for the surrounding community and offered ‘Govanites’ a men’s & women’s reading room and clubs, a library, a gymnasium, cooking and laundry departments, and a retiring room. In addition to this, the organ, stage and gallery in the McLeod Hall made it a popular venue for dance and social gatherings alike.
On the wall at the entrance to the building is the greeting: