The stunning building – which sits within Govan – was commissioned by Lady Dinah Pearce in memory of her late husband Sir William Pearce MP of the Fairfield Shipyard, who died in 1888.
The building was designed by Sir Robert Rowand Anderson in the style of a large 17th century Scottish town house and constructed between 1902 and 1906.
The apparition of a ghostly woman has been witnessed walking across the foyer. Lights have been reported form within the building, as well as a tap that switches on by itself.
On Investigation sessions, we have heard tapping noises from the kitchen area within the Fairfield Room, which seems to happen very much on demand at times.
The presence of a man has been reported in the main hall on a number of occasions. On one occasion the caretaker reported hearing organ music coming from the hall, but the organ is in a decommissioned state and couldn’t be played, so where did this music come from and how is this possible?
Linlithgow Palace is situated in the town of Linlithgow, in West Lothian, Scotland which is approximately 15 miles west of Edinburgh.
The palace was one of the main residences for Scotland’s monarchs from the 15th century. However, after Scotland’s monarchs left for England in 1603, the palace was scarcely used, and then was subject to a burn out in 1746.
Let’s have a look at Linlithgow Palace – in pictures – as of March 2016 with some additional information.
Once described by historian – and earlier Most Haunted regular – Richard Jones, as the worst paranormal site he had visited, stating “It terrified me!”
This was a must visit for the readers and researchers who follow the work of Haunted Scotland.
Situated on the Firth of Forth, it was built in the 15th century by the Crichtons, but annexed by James II becoming a royal residence. It played its part in history as a prison, housing some high-ranking individuals.
The castle became a formidable stronghold with thickened walls and defensive guns, the garrison held it in support of Mary Queen of Scots for six years and It was besieged by Cromwell in 1650 who left the castle in ruins. It was restored during the Napoleonic wars when it again served as a prison.
Situated on the southern outskirts of Scotland’s Capital City sits the impressive and superbly preserved castle named Craigmillar.
The former fortified residence of the Preston’s, and latter leading Edinburgh lawyer Sir John Gilmour, this romantic location casts a stunning shadow south of the world-famous Edinburgh Castle.
Haunted Scotland thought that Linlithgow & Blackness had nook and crannies galore, that’s till we braved the wintry Scottish weather and undertook a search for the ghostly white woman said to haunt Craigmillar. Is she the only active apparition though?
Crookston Castle is situated in the Pollok area of south-west Glasgow, Scotland. The castle sits some 5 miles south-west of the city centre, and 3 miles east of Paisley, overlooking the Levern Water.
The castle is surrounded by a defensive ring-ditch that dates back to the 12th century when Sir Robert de Croc – who also gave his name to the village of Crookston – built a timber and earth castle. Remains of a chapel founded in 1180 have been uncovered at the area too.
Hailes Castle is a mainly 14th century castle about a mile and a half south-west of East Linton, East Lothian, Scotland.
This castle, which has a fine riverside setting, belonged to the Hepburn family during the most important centuries of its existence. Since 1926, it has been the subject of a state-sponsored guardianship agreement, which is now under the auspices of Historic Scotland. It is also ‘rumoured’ to be haunted by the Hailes Castle Ghost